Join me – We Can Sew It!

Last week, I told you all about my lovely new project, in which I’m basically trying to sew all the things I’ve been telling everyone I definitely can’t make. 

And it seems I’m not the only one with a few sewing no can dos – one especially. Who knew trousers could inspire such fear? Oh – and guess what I picked out of my can’t jar first.

Well that’s just DANDY.

Now, remember how I threatened to get you all involved? I’m just going to leave this here…

(see what I did there?)

See what I did there?

See what I did there?

Folks, it’s time for a bit more positive sewing. We all need some upbeat stitchin’. And that means SEWING SOME TROUSERS and maybe doing some pushups to prepare. I don’t know. I’m new at this.

Borrowing heavily from our pal Rosie the Riveter, this project/sewalong/whatever this is shall henceforth be known as WE CAN SEW IT. Because if you’ve got some fabric, a sewing machine and some thread, you can probably sew just about anything – you’re just telling yourself you can’t.

I’m not going to put a time limit because it’s probably going to take me an absolute age to make my trousers. But, to help you along, I shall be posting some tidbits on patterns, fun tutorials I find in panicked google searches (I foresee interesting results when it comes to fitting the crotch) as well as the heap of mess which will spew forth from my beleaguered machine.

Want to join in? Well I only bloody have a hashtag for you to use, don’t I? Lovely! It’s #wecansewit. Even if you’re not sewing trousers this time around, do share if you’re tackling a particularly tricky project.

Oh, and I made a banner button thingy you can put on your blog should you want to get involved:

wecansewittrews

 

The code for that is as follows:

[a href=”http://seamlessblog.wordpress.com/we-can-sew-it/&#8221; target=”_blank”>[img src="http://seamlessblog.files.wordpress.com/2013/10/wecansewittrews2.jpg" alt="We Can Sew It" /]</a] (replace the [ ] with < >)

WATCH THIS SPACE! Those of you who do follow me on Twitter probably already know which pattern I’ve chosen, but I’ll stick a post up with some good beginner trouser patterns later this week.

Tomorrow, I promise* I will drink less caffeine.

*I can’t promise anything
14 thoughts on “Join me – We Can Sew It!

  1. Sarah

    Sounds like a great sew along. You can count me in. I definitely need to get over my fear of sewing trousers, and it might take me forever, too, lol. But perhaps we’ll all muddle through together. I’m not on twitter though, do I have to be on twitter to join in?

    Reply
  2. Tasha Miller Griffith

    I was not so much scared as quietly failing and taking things very slowly with sewing trousers for the longest time—but not anymore! And come on, having pants (to us Americans) that finally fit is about the best thing ever! I recommend copying a pair that fits you well, and then tweaking the fit from there, that’s what finally worked for me. Also, you may already know this but Sunni from A Fashionable Stitch has a great trousers fitting series which I found really helpful.
    Good luck and keep up the positive attitude—you’re right of course, we can make whatever we want!

    Reply
  3. Clipped Curves

    I’m trying to make S4044 but got flustered at the crotch adjustments. I have ordered “Sewing pants that Fit” on the recommendation of other sewing bloggers who conquered trouser fitting!

    Reply
    1. Elena Cresci Post author

      No worries Dorine – you’re more than welcome to join in with an alternative project if you want, will save you having to wait and see what comes out of that jar next :)

      Reply
  4. Ali

    Hey, I’ve only made two pairs of trousers, it seemed a bit scary but I have a bit of pattern feedback for you that might help…These http://isthathomemade.wordpress.com/2013/04/27/very-near-completion-and-very-long/ which were simplicity 2700 amazing fit trousers and it was easy to get it a good fit but it took me two goes to get the zip in right. I have also made these http://isthathomemade.wordpress.com/2013/09/29/complete-burda-jeans/ which are not such a good fit but VERY easy to make, its Burda 8488.
    Good luck

    Reply
  5. mrsmacabre

    I too have an irrational fear of creating trousers…of any kind, so this is just what I need! Thank you so much for the confidence, inspiration and future helpful tidbits :D

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Sewing sequins – some inspiration | Seamless

Leave a Reply

