Me Made May ’12 – Blast from the past

Have you ever refashioned one of your own creations from when you were a beginner?

I’ve already written about one of mine and I’ve got a few others in the works, but I wondered what everyone thought about possibly doing a refashioning challenge of Me-Mades we’ve fallen out of love with?

Yesterday’s Me Made outfit is a case in point, when I wore a make from way back when I began sewing.

This little number happens to be the second dress I ever made, and oh boy, does it show. Well, on the inside that is. It’s funny how finishing seams didn’t really occur to me back then.

Using a mix of BurdaStyle’s Marie pattern and a contour bust tutorial on the site, I made the dress out of some vintage fabric I scored on eBay and some green polycotton fabric I found somewhere way back when. I have to say, I’m not sure entirely how much I like this dress nowadays.

I’m a big fan of the top (which happens to fit me a lot better now I’ve, er, filled out a bit, so to speak!) but the bottom half just isn’t as flattering as I’d like. It’s a little more tapered than I’d like it to be, but I’m not about to throw it out just yet!

If anything, it seems to be yet another contender for refashioning. In fact, it’s added to a long list of refashions I have by now, including my now-ripped leopard print Sorbetto.

With Me Made May and my journalism course coming to an end soon, I was thinking of running some sort of refashioning challenge this Summer. Would anyone be interested?

I’ve already got a few more Seamless features in the pipeline, so I’m thinking of doing it in perhaps July or August. Let me know what you think!

Apologies for the briefer blog posts of late – I still have a few hefty exams coming up. I actually don’t finish until June 13!

2 thoughts on “Me Made May ’12 – Blast from the past

  1. gingermakes

    Ooh, interesting idea! I think some of my earliest makes are a bit too, err, structurally unsound to be tinkered with! I really didn’t understand seam finishing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

